Vet Specialists:

  • have completed advanced training, usually over a minimum of 3 years. Find out more here.
  • have normally passed post graduate Diploma exams overseen by a European or American Speciality College or the RCVS. Find out more here.
  • are required to regularly re-validate their expertise and knowledge: every specialist must complete a re-accreditation process at least once every five years and many Vet Specialists are re-accredited by both the RCVS and one of the European Speciality Colleges overseen by the EBVS.

In order to maintain their status as Vet Specialists, these individuals have to:

  • possess an RCVS, EBVS or AVMA-ABVS Diploma or other relevant post graduate qualification
  • be acknowledged by their peers in the area of specialisation
  • document that they continue their own educational and professional develpment as well as the education of fellow vets by publishing, teaching, reviewing, examining and attending national and international specialist meetings
  • be available for referral by other veterinary colleagues
  • document that they are currently an active practitioner within the specialist field


Already a BCVSp member?

Joined before Nov 2016? Use this button to pay dues, but don't forget to also set up an online profile


Need help with your profile?

Click below for guidance notes and more details

Create online profile

Our latest news and events